Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry

Organization ATSDR



Robert R. Redfield has served as ATSDR administrator and CDC director since March 26, 2018. Patrick N. Breysse, PhD. has been director of NCEH/ATSDR since December 2014. The ATSDR administrator, who provides overall leadership of the agency, is appointed by the president of the United States, and the appointment does not require Senate approval. The ATSDR administrator appoints the NCEH/ATSDR director, who is responsible for managing the agency's programs and activities.

Regional offices

The Division of Community Health Investigations manages an office in Washington, D.C., as well as offices in each of the 10 EPA regions:
Boston (Region 1: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont)
New York and Edison, New Jersey (Region 2: New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands)
Philadelphia (Region 3: Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia)
Atlanta (Region 4: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee)
Chicago (Region 5: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin)
Dallas (Region 6: Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas)
Kansas City, Kansas (Region 7: Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska)
Denver and Helena, Montana (Region 8: Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming)
San Francisco (Region 9: American Samoa, Arizona, California, Guam, Hawaii, Nevada, Northern Mariana Islands, Trust Territories)
Seattle and Anchorage, Alaska (Region 10: Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington)